What will OS X 10.11 be called?



At the World Wide Developers conference, held at the Moscone centre in San Francisco June 8-14 this year, we can expect an update to the MAC OS – OS X 10.11.


Previous to 2013 Apple had named their operating systems after big cats – see below.


OS X 10 – Cheetah (2001)

OS X 10.1 – Puma

OS X 10.2 – Jaguar

OS X 10.3 – Panther

OS X 10.4 – Tiger

OS X 10.5 – Leopard

OS X 10.6 – Snow Leopard

OS X 10.7 – Lion

OS X 10.8 – Mountain Lion


In 2013, Apple decided a different naming system was necessary (and better for the brand who wanted to uphold the idea of Apple being an American Company) and decided that Californian Landmarks would be the way of the name for the future of OS, beginning with OS X Mavericks, which is a surfing break south of San Francisco.


They continued with OS X Yosemite last year, so what do you think they’ll be going with this year for OS X 10.11?


Here are some of the names Apple has Trademarked:


Redwood, Mammoth, California, Big Sur, Pacific, Diablo, Miramar, Rincon, El Cap, Redtail, Condor, Grizzly, Farallon, Tiburon, Monterey, Skyline, Shasta, Sierra, Mojave, Sequoia, Ventura, and Sonoma.


What do you think they’ll pick? What would you pick? If iPhone Antidote were Apple, you’d be looking at the 2015 Apple Operating System OS X Sierra. And everyone would get a free 6 pack of Sierra Nevada. BOOM!



No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment